Foundation For Enterprise Development

Emerging Scholar Awards

Emerging Scholar Awards

The Foundation for Enterprise Development in partnership with the Employee Ownership Foundation (EOF) and the Academy of Management (AOM) is pleased to announce the launch of a new, annual award for promising research by an emerging scholar in the domain of broad-based employee participation and ownership. The purpose of this award is to identify innovative research in management or management-related disciplines that considers high-impact ideas in the context of business and society’s needs for employee empowerment, participative workforces, and wealth creation through broad-based equity and profit-sharing mechanisms, work practices, organizational structures, and innovation and entrepreneurial models. Research that has broad implications for practice and/or policy, and that addresses pressing economic and/or social problems are especially appropriate for this award.

The Emerging Scholar Research Award titled, Employee Participation and Ownership, is a new annual award program to attract young scholars to the field of Employee Ownership. Piloted in 2009, the Shared Capitalism through Employee Ownership dissertation proposal award was designed in collaboration with the Aspen Institute Business & Society Program, FED and EOF. More Information

Beginning in 2012, this program was expanded beyond dissertation proposals and administered by the AOM, a leading association for scholars in management and organization.

In 2013, three individuals will receive awards titled, "The Emerging Scholar Award in Employee Participation and Ownership" with sponsorship by the FED, AOM, EOF and EASi. The three recipients have been announced!

  1. Felice B. Klein, Michigan State University, Assistant Professor, Pay-for-Performance and Gender: An examination of the sorting and incentive effects.
  2. Adam Seth Litwin, John Hopkins University, Assistant Professor, Nose to Tail: Using the whole employment relationship to explain the (missing) El-Performance link. 
  3. Elizabeth McClean, Cornell University, Ph.D. candidate, School of Industrial and Labor Relations, Leader Behaviors and Employee Benefits: A comparison of two approaches to increasing improvement-oriented voice.

The recipient(s) of the awards each receive a plaque, $1500 award from the FED, EOF, and EASi, and recognition at the AOM's annual meeting during the Human Resource (HR) division's breakfast ceremony.

Nominations must be received by February 1, 2014 to:

Adam Seth Litwin (

Application: Emerging Scholar Awards in Employee Participation and Ownership Application

Please refer to '2014 Emerging Scholar Award: Employee Ownership' in the subject line of your email. 

Dissertation Awards - Left Pane

Shared Capitalism through Employee Ownership
International Dissertation Award

In partnership with the FED and the Employee Ownership Foundation (EOF), the Shared Capitalism through Employee Ownership Award was a newly created category in 2009 as part of the Aspen Institute Center for Business Education (Aspen CBE) annual Dissertation Proposal Award program. Read more about the award.

The purpose of this award is to identify innovative research in business or business-related disciplines that is concerned with the impact or effectiveness of shared capitalism and/or broad-based ownership strategies in combination with participative workplace practices. The 2010 winners will receive honorariums and recognition at an awards ceremony to be held in New York City on October 26-27, 2010.

The following five-member academic/non-profit committee panel evaluated the applications:

  • Joseph Blasi, Rutgers University
  • Richard Freeman, Harvard University
  • Takao Kato, Colgate University
  • Corey Rosen, executive director, The National Center for Employee Ownership
  • Maureen Scully, University of Massachusetts, Boston

2009 Winner and Finalists

Daphne Berry, Winner

Doctoral candidate in management
University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Daphne Berry's curriculum vita

Read the press release

Francesco Bova, Finalist

Assistant professor of accounting
Joseph L. Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto
Formerly a doctoral student at Yale University

Mark Stanford, Finalist

Doctoral candidate at the University of Oxford, Linacre College

Academic Research

The FED sponsors inter-disciplinary research focused on how broad-based ownership models motivate employees, improves firm performance, advances innovation, and supports economic development.